Highlights of the 2020 Southern Regional Meeting| Volume 360, ISSUE 1, P82, July 2020

Southern Society for Clinical Investigation Founders’ Medal Award History

        On October 5, 1946, representatives from 19 southern medical schools met in New Orleans to organize the formation of a regional society of clinical investigators. The new organization, named the Southern Society for Clinical Research (later changed to the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation), held its first meeting at the Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans on January 25, 1947. A total of 50 selected “Founders” attended, 18 abstracts were presented, and Tinsley Harrison was named the organization's first President. Since 1973, the Society has formally awarded the Founders’ Medal to an individual who is a member of the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation. He/she should have (1) played an important role in the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation, both through participation in the annual meeting and in providing leadership for the growth of the Society, (2) been recognized nationally as a leader in medicine and (3) been recognized as a leader in his/her institution. We congratulate this year's winner, James C. Oates, as his name is added to this prestigious list of scientists who have come before him as recipients of this award.
        To read this article in full you will need to make a payment

        Purchase one-time access:

        Academic & Personal: 24 hour online accessCorporate R&D Professionals: 24 hour online access
        One-time access price info
        • For academic or personal research use, select 'Academic and Personal'
        • For corporate R&D use, select 'Corporate R&D Professionals'


        Subscribe to The American Journal of the Medical Sciences
        Already a print subscriber? Claim online access
        Already an online subscriber? Sign in
        Institutional Access: Sign in to ScienceDirect